Curl publish - building a bridge from Wordpress

Goal: move video content up to Odysee (I think)

Method: still working that out. Ultimately, I’ll probably run a hook upon successful media upload to WP which will a) optimize the video file, b) curl publish it to Odysee.

For now, I’m moving in baby steps and simply trying to run curl from a terminal on the VPS to publish a known MP4 file to Odysee.

Issue: The issue is truly that I am totally new to the LBRY protocol and this whole decentralized publishing thing in general. So if you don’t feel like coaching someone who is gonna ask some verrrry basic questions, this topic is not for you lol

Questions:

1. Am I even thinking of this correctly - is publishing my video content to Odysee what I’m doing when I do a curl publish command as in API Documentation - lbry.tech? I saw in other threads ppl are talking about running their own LBRY nodes, and I notice that in the SDK examples, the destination is localhost:5279
  2. I’m on an old CentOS 6.x VPS. curl works … am I supposed to be running some kind of local node on port 5279? Can someone point me to a setup guide for this?
  3. Do I need to do an kind of pre-authorization before I publish? Like get a token for use in my publish command? If so, where does that go in the publish parameters (using the curl method)?
  4. Does my method make sense to somone who’s been using LBRY for awhile? Let’s assume at least that I stay with Wordpress as my platform … I’m not ready to move yet … so with that assumption in mind, do you think I’m approaching this in a reasonable way? If not, what other libraries or wrappers or frameworks should I be thinking about to reduce how much I need to actually code? I am not at all afraid of terminal commands, bash scripts, and PHP, but I’m no software engineer. I tend to use the infinite monkey approach to learning and creating things lol.